A girl scout is always prepared

When we really become jaded, I wonder whether we can ever relax. Readjust the bitter, guarded mindset long enough to simply enjoy what is. No matter how good things seem to be going, the old fears creep in. I go from head in the clouds to watching for the sky to fall.

doghouse2

When you spend your career evaluating for the worst-case, you begin to live your life that way. I think I enter every new relationship with an exit strategy in mind, playing out all the plausible unhappy endings and prepping myself to be OK after.

doghouse4

The good news for me is that I am motivated to try.

As I sort through the answers and try to live in the moment, at least I can take comfort in the skills I’ve developed along the way and prepare myself for whatever happens.

doghouse

Credits: Belleza Jesse skin, Truth Isle hair, Poetic cat eyes, Candy Nail jelly nails, Maitreya Gold shoes, Luck Inc. petite dress in eggplant (blogger pack). Set by me.

8 responses to “A girl scout is always prepared

Leave a Reply

