Heart of Glass

I’m belated in updates, so let me catch you up.

In the continuing saga of trying to figure out why I was banned from Blues Dive that Starts with a T, well, let’s just say I stopped short of passing the guy a Costco jug of Midol … just. RL has been frustrating and I wasn’t in the mood for a frustrating SL experience. Favorite blues joint, I fold. Next.

People talk about how quickly things move in SL. But for me, it always seems to be the same dance, different tune. People are disappointing. Someone is into you until they aren’t. People say things they don’t mean. Lately I’ve been wondering why I let myself land in the pleasant distraction category. And why I care.

And then a friend passes me a tip on a great office desk and I immediately have to check it out (where in the hell did you send me, Kalli??) . Or another friend opens up about the troubles she’s been having and I want to help her laugh. Or another friend sends gentle reminders of her birthday and I have the sudden urge to find a gift that tops the burning effigy to her ex. These are the moments that keep me coming back, the friends I care about.  Thank you for being my distraction. 

angel3

2 responses to “Heart of Glass

  • Salvatore Otoro

    I have to agree with you. There is way too much drama in SL. Just as in the real world, some take life too seriously. There is a small group you can call friends and the rest may remain or become casualties of the wars of words.

    I don’t think SL moves at a fast pace, though it all depends on where you go and what you do. I usually hang out in the role play sims. If nothing is going on, we make it happen. Besides that, there’s always a new place to visit or a friend to IM. The possibilities are endless and the experiences a treat, but it all depends on what we do with them and whether we let those that would ruin it get under our skin.

  • felesseitan

    Agreed, Salvatore. There are a handful of people who are really important. I can laugh with them about the ones who aren’t. *hugs

Leave a Reply

